We’re at the starting grid for the launch of the Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards 2013. The awards are the showcase for the petrol retailing industry recognising and rewarding those businesses at the leading edge of their profession that continue to thrive in an increasingly competitive world.

The awards are a measure of the high operating standards and entrepreneurial skills demonstrated by petrol retailers nationwide, who set the standards to which others aspire. They don’t have to be the biggest but they are judged to be the best. Does your site have star quality? You’ll never know if you don’t enter! As in the film of this year’s theme ’The Italian Job’, it’s a race for gold.

The 2013 awards

Regardless of ownership or operational status, the main retailer categories will be grouped by two main criteria region and fuel volume.

Retailers can compete for the high-status title of being the Best Forecourt Retailer in one of six regions:

1. Scotland

2. Northern Ireland

3. Northern England

4. Midlands

5. West Country & Wales

6. London & the South East

Small forecourts will have their own category, so they no longer have to compete with the giants in the industry.

There will be two volume categories up to 2.5mpla and over 2.5mpla.

There will be two winners in each region representing the two volume categories.

The overall Forecourt Trader of the Year winner will be chosen from the 12 regional winners.

Why you should enter

The chance to enjoy a great night out at the awards dinner at the Park Lane Hilton in London on Thursday September 19, 2013.

A great opportunity to network with friends, colleagues and like-minded retailers as well as oil company executives, suppliers and other key business contacts.

Enjoy the prestige of being part of the industry event of the year.

As a winner you are able to use the Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards logo in-store and on marketing material to help impress your customers.

Winners in all categories also benefit from coverage and publicity within the Forecourt Trader magazine and on our awards website www.forecourttraderawards.co.uk.

Specialist categories

In addition to the main retailer awards, all retailers can submit entries for the following specialist categories:

Best Site with a Licence to sell Alcohol

Best Car Care & Lubricants Outlet

Best Design & Development

Best Display of Chilled Food

Best Customer Service

Best Environmentally Friendly Outlet

Best Food to Go Outlet

Best Forecourt Facilities

Best Hot Beverages Outlet

Best Site Manager

Best Soft Drinks Outlet

Best Tobacco Display

How to enter

Online: go to the awards website www.forecourttraderawards.co.uk. Follow the instructions to submit your entry.

By post: you can also download an entry pack from www.forecourttraderawards.co.uk.

Send your completed entry form and photos to: Rebecca George, Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards 2013, William Reed Business Media, Broadfield Park, Crawley, West Sussex RH11 9RT.

For further information call Rebecca George on 01293 610422 or email her at rebecca.george@wrbm.com

Make sure you get your entries in by the deadline: Friday May 17, 2013.

Winning tips

Watch out for tips on how to be a winner in next month’s issue essential reading for those aiming for the top award.


Our big thanks go to this year’s sponsors, without whom the awards would not be possible, particularly Palmer & Harvey, our principal sponsor. We would also like to welcome new sponsor JTI.

Coca-Cola Enterprises

Convenience Distribution Group

Costa Express



Harvest Energy



Palmer & Harvey



Past Award winners year

David Charman 1996
Robert Fraser1997
Hugh Fraser1998
Darren Lawrence1999
Graham Kennedy2000
John McCaffrey2001
Steven Blackadder2002
Jonathan & Rebecca James2003
Peter & Pat Bellini2004
Susie Hawkins2005
Karl Brocklehurst2006
Hugh & Robert Fraser2007
Philip & Lesley Tout2008
Patrick Sewell2009
Bhupa, lata & jay gohil2010
mohsin & zuber issa2011
jeremy symonds & nick lloyd2012