FT 2021 FT award winner Exelby

From left: Merril Boulton, MIke Exelby, store manager Jonathan Tarran and Anton du Beke

Exelby Services on the A19 in Northallerton was the Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards winner at last night’s glittering ceremony at the Park Plaza in Westminster.

Hosted by Anton du Beke of Strictly Come Dancing fame, the nation’s top forecourt retailers were recognised for their incredible hard work, high standards and innovation that has seen them emerge as the driving force of the future forecourt convenience generation.

“It‘s been an incredibly tough time for everyone in the retail sector, but forecourts have continued to adapt and meet those considerable challenges as they always have, whether it be managing a business through a pandemic as an essential service; preparing for net zero – or managing this week’s queues and fuel shortages!” said Forecourt Trader editor Merril Boulton.

Exelby Services were victorious following a rigorous judging process which included the Forecourt Trader team travelling far and wide across the UK visiting those sites which had come through the early rounds of judging, and experiencing the forecourt service they offered first hand. When the scores were finalised, Rob Exelby and his team came out on top.

“This is a stunning modern forecourt convenience development whose owners have put a great deal of thought into its design and function,” said Merril.

“They have also ensured the site has something of a wow factor by putting an F1 Ferrari on its ceiling. But that’s not the only thing that puts it on the map and gives its customers something to talk about. The Shell-branded site offers a fantastic array of facilities and services to suit its customers, with appropriate environmental considerations, in a pleasant, spacious and easily accessible setting. Most importantly its top-scoring customer service levels are designed to deliver best-in-class to all its customers, every single time!”

There were many other winners on the night, including Visvanathan Yoganathan from J, P & S Services who won the Special Recognition Award, voted for by his peers, following a public vote on Forecourt Trader’s dedicated awards website.

Best Oil Company Initiative went to Gulf Retail for its Dealer Rewards programme; while Shell was Highly Commended for its John Lewis Click & Collect partnership.

See below for the full list of winners:








Best site in Northern Ireland 4mlpa plus

Maxol A26 Tannaghmore Services


Best site in Northern Ireland up to 4mlpa

Eurospar Hardford Link


Best site in Scotland 4mlpa plus

Abbiecraig Services


Best site in Midlands 4mlpa plus

Harleston Service Station


Best site in Midlands 4mlpa less

AKV Services


Best site in Northern England 4mlpa plus

Exelby Services A19 North


Best site in Northern England up to 4mlpa

Spar G&E Murgatroyd Maryport


Best site in Midlands 4mlpa plus

Harleston Service Station


Best site in Midlands 4mlpa less

AKV Services


Best site in West country and Wales 4mlpa plus

Ruabon Park Service Station


Best site in West country and Wales up to 4mlpa

East End Services


Best site in London & SE 4mlpa plus

Parkfoot Garage


Best site in London & SE up to 4mlpa

Fitch’s Service Station


Best Motorway Services Outlet

Shell Cobham Motorway Services



Best Alternative Fuels Outlet

MFG Crow Orchard


Best Car Care & Lubricants Outlet

Abbiecraig Services


Best Coffee & Hot Beverages Outlet

Spar Fortfield


Best Community Engagement

Daly’s Service Station


Best Customer Service

Spar Malone Road


Best Design & Development

Dunball Service Station


Best Food-to-go Outlet

Lisburn Supervalu


Best Forecourt Innovation

Maxol Portrush


Best Forecourt Loo of the Year

RaceTrack Autoport


Best Forecourt Team of the Year

Esso Abbeygate


Best Site Manager

Abbiecraig Services


Best Soft Drinks Outlet

Ascona Haunchwood Service Station


Best Valeting Facilities

Fraser’s Budgens of Marlborough