’Best of British’ on parade in London

Patrick Sewell and his team at Sewell on the go South Cave were the triumphant overall victors at last month’s glorious celebration of the Best of British fuel retailers, held at the London Hilton on Park Lane, in front of a record crowd.

The spectacular evening was hosted by the ebullient all-round entertainer Brian Conley, who joked, sang and danced his way into the hearts of a lively audience, as he announced the many winners on the night. A packed evening of entertainment included a marching band, free after-dinner bar, union-jack dance-floor, photo booth, Scalextric and a casino and a great time was had by all.

Read on for a full run-down of all the amazing winners on the night.

Awards Winners 2016

forecourt trader of the year 2016
Patrick Sewell, Sewell on the go South Cave
scotland up to 4mlpa
Eddie Jenkinson, Co-op Earlston Filling Station
scotland 4mlpa-plus
Ilyas Munshi, Euro Garages Lomondgate Service Station
northern ireland up to 4mlpa
David Heenan, Barbican Supervalu
northern ireland 4mlpa-plus
Daniel Mellor, Spar Ballyclare Milestone
midlands up to 4mlpa
Julie Sharpe, Blakemore Retail Spar Newark
midlands 4mlpa-plus
Salim Hasan, Euro Garages Markham Vale Service Station
northern england up to 4mlpa
Nick Baker, NJB Services Newton Park
northern england 4mlpa-plus
Patrick Sewell, Sewell on the go South Cave
west country & wales up to 4mlpa
Julian Holliss, Holliss Filling Stations, Townstal Road Garage
west country & Wales 4mlpa-plus
Jonathan Tout & Zena Bishop, Tout’s Budgens Nailsea
london & south east up to 4mlpa
Subu Nanthakumar, Hemsby Service Station
london & south east 4mlpa-plus
David Charman, Spar BP Parkfoot
motorway services
June Fessey, Corley Services Area M6 Motorway
best care care & lubricants outlet
Louise Alexander, Sewell on the go Hull West
best community engagement
Karl Screeton, Sewell on the go Maybury
best customer service
Sarah Spafford, Sewell on the go South Cave
best design & development
John Mason, Wellington Service Station
best food-to-go outlet
Terry Mulkerns, Maxol Spar Scarva Road
best forecourt innovation
Jonathan Tout & Zena Bishop, Tout’s Budgens Nailsea
best hot beverages outlet
David Heenan, Barbican Supervalu
best site manager
Jan Hawthorne, HKS Mill Lane
best soft drinks outlet
Sarah Spafford, Sewell on the go South Cave
best valeting facilities
David Penny & Vicky Hennessy, Penny Petroleum
Gulf special recognition award (reader vote)
Bob Etchingham & Joe Barrett, Applegreen plc
Best oil company initiative
Winner: Essar Oil (UK) Highly Commended: Jet
lifetime achievement award
Graham Peacock