This month sees the launch of the Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards 2016. Celebrating its 20th birthday this year, the awards have long been established as the showcase for the petrol retailing industry recognising and rewarding those businesses at the leading edge of their profession that continue to thrive in an increasingly competitive world.

The awards are a measure of the high operating standards and entrepreneurial skills demonstrated by petrol retailers nationwide, who set the standards to which others aspire. They don’t have to be the biggest but they are judged to be the best. Does your site stand head and shoulders above the rest? In keeping with this year’s ’Best of British’ theme, it’s time to measure your talents against all other forecourts up and down the land. Will you be joining the royal line-up of winners by taking the crown in 2016? You’ll never know if you don’t enter!

The 2016 awards

Regardless of ownership or operational status, the main retailer categories will be grouped by two main criteria region and fuel volume.

Retailers can compete for the high-status title of being the Best Forecourt Retailer in one of six regions: 1. Scotland

2. Northern Ireland

3. Northern England

4. Midlands

5. West Country & Wales

6. London & the South East

There will be two volume categories up to 4mpla and over 4mpla.

There will be two winners in each region representing the two volume categories.

There will also be an award for the Best Motorway Services Outlet.

The overall Forecourt Trader of the Year winner will be chosen from the winners of the above categories.

Why you should enter

The chance to win the most prestigious retailer award in the forecourt sector.

The opportunity to enjoy a great night out at the awards dinner at the Park Lane Hilton in London on Thursday, September 15, 2016.

A great event at which to network with friends, colleagues and like-minded retailers as well as oil-company executives, suppliers and other key business contacts.

Enjoy the prestige of being part of the industry event of the year.

As a winner you are able to use the Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards logo in-store and on marketing material to help impress your customers.

Winners in all categories also benefit from coverage and publicity within Forecourt Trader magazine and on our awards website:

Specialist categories

In addition to the main site awards, all retailers can submit entries for the following specialist categories. Newly incorporated into this year’s competition is the award for Best Forecourt Loo:

Best Car Care & Lubricants Outlet

Best Community Engagement

Best Customer Service

Best Design & Development

Best Food-to-Go Outlet

Best Forecourt Loo

Best Forecourt Innovation

Best Hot Beverages Outlet

Best Site Manager

Best Soft Drinks Outlet

Best Valeting FacilitiesHow to enter

Online: go to the awards website Follow the instructions to submit your entry.

By post: you can download an entry pack at

Send your completed entry form and photos to: Rebecca George, Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards 2016 William Reed Business Media, Broadfield Park, Crawley, West Sussex RH11 9RT.

For further information call Rebecca George on 01293 610422 or email her at

Make sure you get your entries in by the deadline: Friday May 13, 2016.

Winning tipsWatch out for tips on how to be a winner in next month’s issue essential reading for those aiming for the top.


Our big thanks go to this year’s sponsors, without whom the awards would not be possible, particularly principal sponsor, Certas Energy. Welcome also to new sponsor Fast Trak, sponsoring Best Forecourt Loo; and HTEC, sponsoring community engagement.

Certas Energy

Coca-Cola Enterprises

Convenience Distribution Group

Costa Express

Fast Trak

Harvest Energy







Past Winners

1996David Charman
1997Robert Fraser
1998Hugh Fraser
1999Darren Lawrence
2000Graham Kennedy
2001John McCaffrey
2002Steven Blackadder
2003Jonathan & Rebecca James
2004Peter & Pat Bellini
2005Susie Hawkins
2006Karl Brocklehurst
2007Hugh & Robert Fraser
2008Philip & Lesley Tout
2009Patrick Sewell
2010Bhupa, Lata & Jay Gohil
2011Mohsin & Zuber Issa
2012Jeremy Symonds & Nick Lloyd
2013Mohsin & Zuber Issa
2014Mike & Tim Garner
2015Laurence King