FCT Award winner 2022

From left: Ray Stubbs, Indre Aulaseviciene from MFG Putney, Merril Boulton and Mark Lawrenson

MFG Shell Putney was the outright winner at last night’s glittering Forecourt Trader Awards ceremony, in which forecourt retailers nationwide were recognised for their entrepreneurial skills and talent in the face of significant and ongoing challenges.

Putney Service Station is MFG’s state-of-the-art flagship EV charging station, petrol filling station, convenience retail and valeting centre which was re-opened in 2021 following a knock-down-rebuild, and features everything a customer could want from a comprehensive forecourt operation, especially one that is catering for future motorists.

Forecourt Trader editor and chairman of the judges Merril Boulton said: “MFG Putney is a key site for the company as it’s been designed as the industry-leading blueprint for the future of UK forecourts to achieve a practical transition from fossil fuels to electrically powered vehicles. The spacious dual-fuel station has eight dedicated EV charging bays, and eight traditional fuel pumps; as well as an impressive valeting offer all decked out in very striking branding. The big Budgens retail store with a comprehensive range of food-to-go, drinks and grocery lines, as well as the Costa Café with M&S Food range, where customers can sit comfortably, adds up to a ‘wow’ site, serving the needs of all its motoring and local customers. The management team have also done a great job creating a positive environment with great standards and service. A very worthy Forecourt Trader Award-winning site for 2022!”

Meanwhile Darren Briggs, CEO of the Ascona Group, was voted the winner of the Special Recognition Award by the readers of Forecourt Trader.

The Forecourt Trader Awards ceremony is the most prestigious event in the fuel retailing industry and enjoyed a bumper turnout following the Covid years. Fellow retailers, oil companies and industry colleagues celebrated into the early hours.

Celebrity footballing pundits Ray Stubbs and Mark Lawrenson hosted the proceedings, giving a flavour of the build-up to the forthcoming World Cup. Entertainment for guests included Monster Cocktails, Casino and Scalextric.

See below for a full list of winners:

Best Motorway Service Outlet

  • Shell Cobham Motorway Services – Cobham, Surrey

Northern Ireland up to 4mlpa

  • Swifts Eurospar Lisnaskea – Lisnaskea, Fermanagh

Northern Ireland over 4mlpa

  • McCullagh’s Classic Service Station – Omagh, Tyrone

Scotland up to 4mlpa

  • Racetrack Pitstop Bearsden – Bearsden, Glasgow

Scotland over 4mlpa

  • MFG Broxden Service Station – Perth, Perthshire

Northern England up to 4mlpa

  • G&E Murgatroyd Spar – Whitehaven, Cumbria

Northern England over 4mlpa

  • Jet Refinery Service Station – South Killingholme, North Lincolnshire

Midlands up to 4mlpa

  • Nisa Local Highland Group Potton – Sandy Bedfordshire

Midlands over 4mlpa

  • Park Thieves Lane – Shrewsbury Shropshire

London & South East up to 4mlpa

  • MFG Sutton Court – Sutton, Surrey

London & South East over 4mlpa

  • MFG Shell Putney – Putney, Wandsworth

West Country & Wales up to 4mlpa

  • Green Garage Bush Hill – Pembroke, Pembrokeshire

West Country & Wales over 4mlpa

  • MFG BP Budgens Dunball – Bridgewater, Somerset

Best Alternative Fuels

  • Gridserve Norwich Electric Forecourt – Postwick, Norwich

Best Car Care & Lubricants Outlet

  • Woodman Service Station – Dewsbury Road, Leeds

Best Coffee & Hot Beverages Outlet

  • Spar Fortfield – Carrickfergus, Antrim

Best Community Engagement

  • Lewis – Llandrinio, Powys

Best Customer Service

  • Eurospar Donegall Road – Belfast, Antrim

Best Design and Development

  • Eurospar Kircubbin – Kircubbin, Newtownards, County Down

Best Food-To-Go Outlet

  • Centra Mallusk – Newtonabbey, Antrim

Best Forecourt Innovation

  • Gridserve Braintree Electric Forecourt – Braintree, Essex

Best Forecourt Loo

  • RaceTrack Pitstop Autoport – West Bellahouston, Glasgow

Best Forecourt Team

  • Creightons of Finaghy – Belfast, Antrim

Best Site Manager

  • Chris Lawlor from Eurospar Donegall Road, Belfast

Best Soft Drinks Outlet

  • Woodman Service Station – Leeds, West Yorkshire

Best Valeting Facilities

  • Rontec Beverely – Beverley, East Yorkshire

Oil Company Initiative

  • Winner: Gulf – PricePro App and Dashboard
  • Highly commended: Maxol – Sustainability Programme

Special Recognition Award

  • Darren Briggs, CEO Ascona Group

Forecourt Trader of the Year

  • MFG Shell Putney