The Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards are the showcase for the petrol retailing industry and this year they have been revamped and relaunched to give every forecourt retailer the chance to win something.


The complex categories of the past have been swept away so that forecourt retailers will be grouped under two main criteria by region and fuel volume.


The Forecourt Trader Awards recognise and reward those businesses at the leading edge of their profession; that continue to thrive in an increasingly competitive world.


They don’t have to be the biggest but they are judged to be the best. Does your site have star quality?


You’ll never know if you don’t enter!



The new structure



Regardless of ownership or operational status, the main retailer categories will be grouped by two main criteria region and fuel volume.


Retailers can compete for the high-status title of being the Best Forecourt Retailer in one of six regions:


1. Scotland


2. Northern Ireland


3. Northern England


4. Midlands


5. West Country & Wales


6. London & the South East




Small forecourts will have their own category, so they no longer have to compete with the giants in the industry.


There will be two volume categories up to 2.5mpla and over 2.5mpla.


There will be two winners in each region representing the two volume categories. These winners will then compete for the overall regional title, called, for example: ’Best Scottish forecourt retailer; Best London & South East forecourt retailer’.


The overall Forecourt Trader of the Year winner will be chosen from the six regional winners.



Why you should enter



A cash prize of £3,000 for the overall winner of Forecourt Trader of the Year 2011.


The chance to enjoy a great night out at the awards dinner at the Park Lane Hilton in London on Thursday September 22, 2011.


A great opportunity to network with friends, colleagues and like-minded retailers as well as oil company executives, suppliers and other key business contacts.


As a winner you are able to use the Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards logo in-store and on marketing material to help impress your customers.


Winners in all categories also benefit from coverage and publicity within the Forecourt Trader magazine and on our awards website



Specialist categories



In addition to the main retailer awards, all retailers can submit entries for the following specialist categories:


Best Site with a Licence to sell Alcohol


Best Car Care & Lubricants Outlet


Best Display of Chilled Food


Best Confectionery Outlet


Best Customer Service


Best Eco Friendly Outlet


Best Forecourt Facilities


Best Hot Beverages Outlet


Best Soft Drinks Outlet


Best Tobacco Retailer


Best Site Manager



How to enter



Online entry will be available for the first time at


You can also download an entry pack from


Send your completed entry form and photos to: Rebecca George, Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards 2011, William Reed Business Media, Broadfield Park, Crawley, West Sussex RH11 9RT.


For further information call Rebecca George on 01293 610422 or email her at


Make sure you get your entries in by the deadline: Friday May 27, 2011.



Winning tips



Watch out for tips on how to be a winner in next month’s issue essential reading for those aiming for the top prize.






Our big thanks go to this year’s sponsors, without whom the awards would not be possible, particularly Palmer & Harvey, our principal sponsor. We would also like to welcome new sponsor Heineken.




Coca-Cola Enterprises


Coffee Nation


Convenience Distribution Group


Dresser Wayne






Imperial Tobacco


Palmer & Harvey


RS Sales


Torex Retail






Past Award winners year


David Charman 1996

Robert Fraser1997

Hugh Fraser1998

Darren Lawrence1999

Graham Kennedy2000

John McCaffrey2001

Steven Blackadder2002

Jonathan & Rebecca James2003

Peter & Pat Bellini2004

Susie Hawkins2005

Karl Brocklehurst2006

Hugh & Robert Fraser2007

Philip & Lesley Tout2008

Patrick Sewell2009

Bhupa, lata & jay gohil2010