It’s launchtime for the Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards 2012. The awards are the showcase for the petrol retailing industry recognising and rewarding those businesses at the leading edge of their profession; that continue to thrive in an increasingly competitive world.

The awards are a measure of the high operating standards and entrepreneurial skills demonstrated by petrol retailers nationwide who set the standards to which others aspire.

They don’t have to be the biggest but they are judged to be the best. Does your site have star quality?

You’ll never know if you don’t enter!

The 2012 awards

Regardless of ownership or operational status, the main retailer categories will be grouped by two main criteria region and fuel volume.

Retailers can compete for the high-status title of being the Best Forecourt Retailer in one of six regions:

1. Scotland

2. Northern Ireland

3. Northern England

4. Midlands

5. West Country & Wales

6. London & the South East

Small forecourts will have their own category, so they no longer have to compete with the giants in the industry.

There will be two volume categories up to 2.5mpla and over 2.5mpla.

There will be two winners in each region representing the two volume categories. These winners will then compete for the overall regional title, called, for example: ’Best Scottish forecourt retailer; Best London & South East forecourt retailer’.

The overall Forecourt Trader of the Year winner will be chosen from the six regional winners.

Why you should enter

The chance to enjoy a great night out at the awards dinner at the Park Lane Hilton in London on Thursday September 20, 2012.

A great opportunity to network with friends, colleagues and like-minded retailers as well as oil company executives, suppliers and other key business contacts.

As a winner you are able to use the Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards logo in-store and on marketing material to help impress your customers.

Winners in all categories also benefit from coverage and publicity within the Forecourt Trader magazine and on our awards website

Specialist categories

In addition to the main retailer awards, all retailers can submit entries for the following specialist categories:

Best Site with a Licence to sell Alcohol

Best Car Care & Lubricants Outlet

Best Design & Development

Best Display of Chilled Food

Best Customer Service

Best Environmentally Friendly Outlet

Best Food to Go Outlet

Best Forecourt Facilities

Best Forecourt Innovation

Best Hot Beverages Outlet

Best Site Manager

Best Soft Drinks Outlet

How to enter

Like last year, online entry will be available at

You can also download an entry pack from

Send your completed entry form and photos to: Rebecca George, Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards 2012, William Reed Business Media, Broadfield Park, Crawley, West Sussex RH11 9RT.

For further information call Rebecca George on 01293 610422 or email her at

Make sure you get your entries in by the deadline: Friday May 25, 2012.

Winning tips

Watch out for tips on how to be a winner in next month’s issue essential reading for those aiming for the top prize.


Our big thanks go to this year’s sponsors, without whom the awards would not be possible, particularly Palmer & Harvey, our principal sponsor. We would also like to welcome new sponsors Rollover and Harvest Energy.

Coca-Cola Enterprises

Costa Express

Convenience Distribution Group


Harvest Energy

Imperial Tobacco

Palmer & Harvey





Past Award winners year

David Charman 1996

Robert Fraser1997

Hugh Fraser1998

Darren Lawrence1999

Graham Kennedy2000

John McCaffrey2001

Steven Blackadder2002

Jonathan & Rebecca James2003

Peter & Pat Bellini2004

Susie Hawkins2005

Karl Brocklehurst2006

Hugh & Robert Fraser2007

Philip & Lesley Tout2008

Patrick Sewell2009

Bhupa, lata & jay gohil2010

mohsin & zuber issa2011