This year’s Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards includes a new award which aims to recognise the key industry players in the fuel retailing sector. The new award has been launched in conjunction with

the principal sponsor of the awards, hence its name - the Forecourt Trader and P&H Retailer Champion.

A shortlist has already been drawn up, and now we need you to vote for the retailer(s) you think has done the most to raise the profile of the petrol retailing sector. In no particular order, the nominees include Bill Ahearn, managing director of Snax 24, who is a real veteran of the industry - he’s worked for Snax 24 for 35 years and has helped the business grow to become number two in our Top 50 Indies listing 2009.

There are also Sailesh Sejpal and Sharad Raja, known as Sej and Raj, who run Motor Fuel Group, which was the first UK dealer group to trial a BP Connect/Wild Bean franchise. Next up is Sunil Tandon, managing director of Croydon-based Park Garage Group, which has 85 sites and its own Park & Shop brand.

Also on the list is Graham Peacock, CEO of MRH which is number one in the Top 50 Indies list and boasts a fuel volume of 1.1bn lpa and a turnover of £1.33bn.

Hamukh, Kamlesh and Sailesh V Thakrar are directors of family-run independent HKS Retail, which recently celebrated 25 years in the industry. Then comes Peter Hockenhull, who has more than four decades of experience in the fuel retailing sector and is MD of Top 50 Indie group, Hockenhull Garages.

It’s a tough choice and we need your vote, so visit today. And don’t forget to join us at this year’s Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards on September 24 at the London Hilton on Park Lane. For tickets, call 01293 846587.