This month sees the launch of the Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards 2015. The awards are the showcase for the petrol retailing industry recognising and rewarding those businesses at the leading edge of their profession that continue to thrive in an increasingly competitive world. The awards are a measure of the high operating standards and entrepreneurial skills demonstrated by petrol retailers nationwide, who set the standards to which others aspire. They don’t have to be the biggest but they are judged to be the best.

Does your site have star quality? You’ll never know if you don’t enter! In keeping with this year’s space theme, it’s time to battle it out with the other stars in the forecourt universe for the supreme victory in 2015.

The 2015 awards

Regardless of ownership or operational status, the main retailer categories will be grouped by two main criteria region and fuel volume.

Retailers can compete for the high-status title of being the Best Forecourt Retailer in one of six regions: 1. Scotland

2. Northern Ireland

3. Northern England

4. Midlands

5. West Country & Wales

6. London & the South East

There will be two volume categories up to 4mpla and over 4mpla.

There will be two winners in each region representing the two volume categories.

The overall Forecourt Trader of the Year winner will be chosen from the 12 regional winners.

Why you should enter

The chance to win the most prestigious retailer award in the forecourt sector.

The opportunity to enjoy a great night out at the awards dinner at the Park Lane Hilton in London on Thursday September 17, 2015.

A great event at which to network with friends, colleagues and like-minded retailers as well as oil-company executives, suppliers and other key business contacts.

Enjoy the prestige of being part of the industry event of the year.

As a winner you are able to use the Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards logo in-store and on marketing material to help impress your customers.

Winners in all categories also benefit from coverage and publicity within Forecourt Trader magazine and on our awards website

Specialist categories

In addition to the main retailer awards, all retailers can submit entries for the following specialist categories:

Best Car Care & Lubricants Outlet

Best Community Engagement

Best Customer Service

Best Design & Development

Best Food-to-Go Outlet

Best Forecourt Innovation

Best Hot Beverages Outlet

Best Site Manager

Best Soft Drinks Outlet

Best Valeting Facilities

How to enter

Online: go to the awards website Follow the instructions to submit your entry.

By post: you can download an entry pack at

Send your completed entry form and photos to: Rebecca George, Forecourt Trader of the Year Awards 2015 William Reed Business Media, Broadfield Park, Crawley, West Sussex RH11 9RT.

For further information call Rebecca George on 01293 610422 or email her at

Make sure you get your entries in by the deadline: Friday May 15, 2015.

Winning tips

Watch out for tips on how to be a winner in next month’s issue essential reading for those aiming for the top award.


Our big thanks go to this year’s sponsors, without whom the awards would not be possible, particularly our new principal sponsor, Certas Energy. We would also like to welcome two other new sponsors: Londis and Mars.

Certas Energy

Coca-Cola Enterprises

Convenience Distribution Group

Costa Express

Harvest Energy








Past Award winners year

David Charman1996
Robert Fraser1997
Hugh Fraser1998
Darren Lawrence1999
Graham Kennedy2000
John McCaffrey2001
Steven Blackadder2002
Jonathan & Rebecca James2003
Peter & Pat Bellini2004
Susie Hawkins2005
Karl Brocklehurst2006
Hugh & Robert Fraser2007
Philip & Lesley Tout2008
Patrick Sewell2009
Bhupa, lata & jay gohil2010
mohsin & zuber issa2011
jeremy symonds & nick lloyd2012
mohsin & zuber issa2013
Mike & Tim Garner2014